Family & Community Medicine Interest Group


Who we are

The FCMIG is the largest student organization at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine. They are students dedicated to becoming the best physicians possible while helping others.

Students Kansas City

The goals of the FCMIG are:

  • To promote the specialty of family medicine.
  • Provide oppotunities for medical students to interact with practicing family physicians.
  • Facilitate presentations that provide medical students with information regarding the practical aspects of medical practice.
  • Encourage the development of clinical skills in medical students.
  • Encourage OU medical students to take an active role in state and national organizations that promote the advancement of the medical profession.
  • Foster participation amongst incoming medical students.
  • Promote opportunities for medical students to share their knowledge and skills with members of the community. The FCMIG is responsible for many activities scheduled throughout the school year; Monthly Speaker Luncheon Series, Skills Clinics, and summer externships are some of the activities you can attend.

FCMIG Lunch Lectures

Each semester the Family Health Foundation offers College Medical Students in Oklahoma City and Tulsa the opportunity to attend lunch lectures featuring speakers from the different Family Medicine Residency Programs throughout Oklahoma. This is an opportunity for students to learn about Family Medicine, the different programs available after medical school for Residency in Oklahoma and time to gain one on one interaction with residents and faculty.


We look forward to your involvement in FCMIG!

2017–2018 FCMIG Officers

Please do not hesitate to contact any of the following people with questions you may have regarding FCMIG.

Oklahoma City

  • Macy Frye, President
  • Linh Nguyen, Immediate Past President 
  • Thomas Owens, Vice President
  • Bryan Jan, Treasurer
  • Kait Werner, Secretary
  • Yvonne Trigoso, Philanthropy Chair,
  • Ami Dave, AAFP FMIG Student Membership Ambassador, Ami Dave
  • Richard Dao, 4th Year Rep
  • Allie Wilson, 3rd Year Rep
  • Whitney Jennings, STUCO Rep 
  • Annah Bakal, Alternate STUCO Rep 
  • Teal Muir, Programming Coordinator 
  • Rachel Franklin, MD (FCMIG Advisor) 


  • Jonathan Nahmias, President
  • Jessica Heard, C0-Vice President
  • Kendra Sherier, Co-Vice President 
  • Molly Marietta, Secretary 
  • James Brigance, Treasurer 
  • Ashten Duncan, OAFP Liaison
  • Olivia Shadid, Co- Philanthropy Chair
  • Zach Ferguson, Co-Philanthropy Chair 
  • Syeachia Dennis, MD  (FCMIG Advisor) 



James Brand, MD- President
Family Health Foundation of Oklahoma


Kevin Steichen, MD- Secretary/Treasurer
Family Health Foundation of Oklahoma


Paul Wright, MD-Vice President Family Health Foundation of Oklahoma

FHFO Staff

  • Sam Blackstock, CAE Executive Vice President Oklahoma Academy of Family Physicians Family Health Foundation of Oklahoma
  • Kari Ames, Deputy Director Oklahoma Academy of Family Physicians Student Programs Coordinator Family Health Foundation of Oklahoma